Skip to main content


Frank Wilkinson Memorial Symposium and Economics Reunion Event

View of the Girton College tower

Dr Frank Wilkinson 1934 – 2021, Life Fellow in Economics and one of the first men to join Girton’s Fellowship in 1977, was a much-loved colleague, brilliant economist and inspiring teacher. To mark Dr Wilkinson’s life and work we welcomed alumni, Fellows, students and invited guests to a special event on Saturday 14 May 2022

A recording of the symposium is now on the College's YouTube Channel.

Afternoon Symposium on the work of Dr Frank Wilkinson
3.30pm – 3.45pm: Tea and coffee
3.45pm – 6.45pm: Talks and a round table discussion on the impact of Dr Wilkinson’s work as a leading labour economist of the Cambridge school, and how his career path is intricately entwined with the history of the Cambridge School of Economics.

Frank Wilkinson and his Work in the Department of Applied Economics
Chair: Dr Clive Lawson, Frank Wilkinson Official Fellow in Economics, Girton College
Jill Rubery, Professor of Comparative Employment Systems, University of Manchester
Ken Coutts, Retired lecturer in the Faculty of Economics and Fellow of Selwyn College

Frank’s Insights and Legacy
Chair: Dr Carolina Alves, Joan Robinson Fellow in Heterodox Economics
Frank Wilkinson and the Past (his and other people's)
Jane Humphries, Centennial Professor, London School of Economics; Emeritus Professor of Economic History, Oxford University

Frank Wilkinson, the Cambridge School, and the Campaign for the Living Wage
Simon Deakin, Professor of Law, University of Cambridge

Frank and the Institute of Employment Rights
Keith Ewing, Professor of Public Law, King's College London, President IER
Lord John Hendy QC, Chair of the IER

Alumni Round table Frank, an Inspiring Teacher
Chair: Dr Clive Lawson
Alan Felstead, Research Professor Cardiff University
Maria Hudson, Senior Lecturer Essex Business School
Nigel Pears, Director at Makinson Cowell
Jill Walker, member of the Australian Competition Tribunal and former Commissioner at the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and the NZ Commerce Commission


Emma Cornwall on behalf of the Economics Fellows of Girton College