Jane Martin Poetry Prize

The Jane Martin Poetry Prize is a key part of the College's support for poetry and will be of interest to all those serious about literary excellence.

The national competition for young poets (for those aged 18-30 years) is judged by experts drawn from across the literary world and academia.  The winners receive a cash prize of £700 and have an opportunity to give a reading at a celebratory event at Girton College, at which the prize will be awarded. There is also a second prize of £300 cash.


Girton College is delighted to invite entries for the 2017 Jane Martin Poetry Prize. We are thrilled that this year the panel will be led by Grevel Lindop and Malcolm Guite.


The competition opens on the 26th January 2017 and closes on March 17th 2017.

Please find the 2017 information pack and entry rules here

Enter the Jane Martin Poety Prize here



The winners of the 2016 Jane Martin Poetry Prize were Isabel Galleymore and Nell Wilson.

Isabel Galleymore's debut pamphlet, Dazzle Ship, was published by Worple Press in 2014. Her work has featured in magazines such as Poetry London, Poetry Review and forthcoming from Poetry (Chicago) and Stand. Isabel won first prize in The London Magazine poetry competition in 2015 and in January of this year she became the third Charles Causley Poet in Residence. She has just received her PhD from the University of Exeter in ecopoetics and metaphor, and co-edits The Clearing: a magazine of place-based writing.

Nell Wilson studied English Literature at the University of St Andrews, graduating in 2011.  Her poems have appeared in Measure: A Review of Formal Poetry and The Moth.

The winning poems can be found here:

First prize: Isabel Galleymore

Second prize: Nell Wilson

Previous winners:

2015 Theophilus Kwek and Charlotte Buckley

2014 Alexandra Strnad and Penny Boxall

2013 Jen Campbell

The 2013 Jane Martin Poetry Prize winner was Jen Campbell. The judges were all impressed by 'the poetry's combination of energy and skilfulness, and its delight in spoken language'. Follow this link to read her winning collection. NB All poems are copyright of Jen Campbell.

You can also listen to Jen's poems here:

youtube-play Birdlasses read by Jen Campbell >>

youtube-play Small Infinities read by Jen Campell >>

youtube-play Swimmin read by Jen Campbell >>

2012 Jane Yeh

2011 Agnes Lehoczky and Emily Critchley

For any queries relating to the prize please email JLIB_HTML_CLOAKING