The National Jane Martin Poetry Prize 2017 winners are announced

Girton College is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Jane Martin Poetry Prize, a national poetry competition established in 2010 in memory of Girton alumna Jane Elizabeth Martin.

The winning poems can be found here:

First prize: Katie Hale

Second prize: Andrew Wynn Owen

Katie Hale's student life was split between London, Melbourne, and St Andrews, where she completed her MLitt in Creative Writing a few years ago. She now lives in Cumbria, where she runs poetry workshops in schools and hosts Word Mess open mic night. Her poems have appeared in Poetry Review, The North and Interpreter's House, and her inaugural pamphlet, Breaking the Surface, is forthcoming from Flipped Eye. She was recently shortlisted for the Ballymaloe International Poetry Prize, and came second in the Tannahill International Poetry Competition. She is currently being mentored by Penguin Random House on their WriteNow scheme, and her new musical, The Inevitable Quiet of the Crash, co-written with composer Stephen Hyde, will be showing at the Edinburgh Fringer this summer.

You can hear Katie reading some of her poems on her Soundcloud page.

Andrew Wynn Owen is an Examination Fellow at All Souls College, Oxford. He received an Eric Gregory Award in 2015 and Oxford University's Newdigate Prize in 2014. A recent narrative poem, The Dragon and The Bomb, is published by The Emma Press.'

Katie and Andrew will be visiting the College on Thursday 4 May, along with the Judges Grevel Lindop and Malcolm Guite, to attend the presentation evening and read some of their poems, which will be held in the Stanley Library from 6-7pm. All are welcome to attend and refreshments will be served.